Understanding Software Development Life Cycle

Every software had humble beginning in Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC). SDLC pins down ideas and conceptualized into marketable softwares available for use.

SDLC 101

Every software is conceptualized from scratch and the cycle actualizes the idea into a real product. SDLC creates a plan for software development team to align their objectives, deadlines, and collaboration. It afforded some degree of order and control to teams and project managers. Most importantly, it permits progress to be measured against a benchmark of stages.

Stages of SDLC

Stage 1: Planning

The first stage sets the bar for the overall outcome of software development. Collective input will be gathered from multiple parties to generate a requirement analysis. Several key components in the analysis include:

  • Senior team members
  • Sales department
  • Market surveys
  • Domain experts

Planning provides a good overview in regards to anticipated challenges, opportunities, and directives that must be defined and solved. Timeline is conceived in the stage to complete the workload.

Stage 2: Requirements

Completion of requirement analysis will lead to define and document product requirements. Documentation known as Software Requirement Specification (SRS) will be employed to determine the project needs. Feasibility checks estimate obstacles and resolutions for the task.

Stage 3: Design

Based on the requirements outlined in SRS, the system and software design documents will be prepared. The proposed components will be stored in Design Document Specification (DDS). This stage helps to define the product architecture modules, communication and data flow representation which helped to create standards. Team members are expected to follow quality control measures throughout software development.

Stage 4: Building

The building stage ensues once system design phase is completed. Developers are assigned to build the system in their preferred programming language. Coding guidelines defined in the previous stage must be followed to ensure uniformity. Tools such as compilers, interpreters, debuggers, etc are available at the developers’ disposal. Division of responsibility also takes place whereby coding is divided into units to be completed by team members with different specialty.

Stage 5: Testing

Testing is essential to ensure a functional software is released into the market. This is to ensure that the software matches the expected objectives. The testing team may discover defects and highlight to the developers. In consequence, the developers will evaluate the software for errors and areas for improvement if any.

Stage 6: Deployment

Once the developers can come to a consensus that the software is free of defects, the deployment process will be initiated. The software will be fully deployed once project manager green-lighted the release. This marks the end of software development process.

Stage 7: Maintenance

SDLC is a robust process that continues beyond Stage 6. Evidently, maintenance must be performed periodically to ensure smooth usability and competitive against other softwares in the market. Three maintenance activities will likely occur:

Bug fixing: Untested scenarios may produce errors under certain circumstances faced by customers

Upgrade: Newer versions of the software will require updates to be usable on customers’ devices

Enhancement: Additional features introduced to the software will require patches to be released to customers

Excel in Software Development

Software development can be lengthy and challenging affair as evident in SDLC. For instance, human errors such as incorrect use of programming language spell troubles for testing team. This could ultimately delay a timely deployment.

To ensure excellent software development and orderly SDLC, it would be ideal to send the development team training before undertake major projects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *